Sweet Cheeks

Hey ☺

Today I wanna talk about blush. I love it. It’s pretty and it’s cute (two of the things that distract me the most.) But I can’t be alone I’m having issues with blush and by issues I mean feeling more Miss Piggy and less Princess . Sometimes I think I do it wrong and I can’t be alone in them feeling am I? Now I really want you opinions on that.
Blusher if it’s done right can give you that little pop of colour that makes your smile that little bit brighter. But how? … well I’m glad you asked.
First thing to look at is colour. For the best results we should pick one that matches our natural skin tone. Easy to say, hard to do. I look at all of the colours and just want them all! BUT the color we pick should be as close as possible to the color our cheeks turn when you’re naturally flushed, as amazing as you would look as a clown let’s save that for Halloween or birthday parties shall we?

Pale skin
In general, pale skin tones will work best with light pink which mimics our natural flush. For a more dramatic look, peaches and mochas can work well too. For all the pale girls our there like me the lighter, the better. Step away from the red.

Medium skin
Medium skin tones are the most common with 80% of all women falling into this category. The best blushes for medium skin toned ladies are rosey pink and deep peaches. These will add a healthy glow.

Dark skin
OK you beautiful dark skinned dolls, it’s your turn. For your skin, can get away with vivid oranges, pinks and reds which add a pop of life, colour and can enhance the natural beauty of your skin.

Now we have got our colour! YAY. Now we need a type. There are three types of blush and we all have our favourite. Mine is powder but there are many different blush formulas out there like; powder, cream, gel and liquid. The best option for you will depend on your skin type and personal preference.

Powder blush is good for oily to normal skin. It is also good for when it’s warm, as it will not slide off the face.

Cream blush is good for drier skin as it is more hydrating. It also good for older skin, as it will not catch in fine lines and wrinkles like a powder.

Liquids and gels are great if you want to achieve a very exact and long-lasting application. Often these products can double up as a matching lip stain!

Top tip : powder is the easiest to work with ☺

Okay. So we have a colour and a type. Last thing we need before we actually start our blush is a tool. Step away from the DIY, I’m talking important tools. You don’t NEED to buy anything to use your blush lots of people use their fingers, personally can’t do that without looking like a wannabe cadet, so I use my brush!

Powder blushes are best applied with an angled blush brush or with a wide-headed loose powder brush.

Cream blushes are best applied with your flat-topped brush, a sponge or your fingers.

Liquids and gels are best applied with your fingers or with a synthetic make-up wedge.

Made your three decisions? Awesome!
We have everything now we just need to decide, eh where to put it?
So I always used to use my smile and do the apples of my cheeks and everyone who’s makeup I’ve ever done. This is wrong, whooops. We are suppose to blush based on your face shape. There are five main face shapes: heart, oval, oblong, square and round each with a different placement for blush.

Round faces:

apply-blush-wearandcheer.com_-5-1.jpg

To slim a round face, apply blush to your cheekbones (which you can find by sucking your cheeks in like a fish) and blend outwards and upwards towards the temple.

Long faces:

apply-blush-wearandcheer.com_-2-1.jpg

To soften a long face, apply blush slightly below the apples of your cheeks (the roundest parts). OR Apples of cheek and towards the ears to widen the face

Heart-shaped faces:

apply-blush-wearandcheer.com_-1-1.jpg

To balance heart-shaped faces, apply blush beneath the apples of the cheeks and taper off towards the hairline, this will soften the chin

Square faces:

apply-blush-wearandcheer.com_-4-1.jpg

To even out a square-shaped face, apply the blush straight across your cheeks, beginning about an inch away from either side of your nose. Two finger width from you nose should be enough.

Oval faces:

apply-blush-wearandcheer.com_-3-1.jpg

Oval faces can get away with just applying blush on the apples of their cheeks, and blending well around the edges. To find the apples of your cheeks, just smile!

Now choose your face type and apply ☺

Just a few final tips:

Get rid off the excess blush by “flicking” the end of your brush. We’re trying to avoid the Miss Piggy look remember.

If you do apply to much, don’t panic! A beauty blender rolled the area lightly will clean that right up.

Lighting is super important. Natural is bed but vanity lights and bathroom lights work too.

Most importantly have fun! Makeup makes me happy because it’s fun. It shouldn’t be a total precision needed activity although I’m sure we have all had those days.

Let me know how this works out for you guys and I’ll keep you up to date from me. Any questions, comments or requests for posts are loved and welcomed!

Love
Aisling

xxx

😘😘😘

P.S ~ Social media update! I got Facebook BigBeauty by Aisling. Come join in and don’t forget to follow my instagram

5 Comments Add yours

  1. LaQuita says:

    I love it! Especially the pictures (because I’m very visual). Do you ever use other makeup products as blush (i.e. lipstick)?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your feedback! Ans to answer your quesrion sometimes. I’ve used some eye shadows as a blush/highlighter combo ☺
      I’ve never used lipstick because I find that too hard to blend on my face xx

      Like

  2. urbantutu says:

    This is so well done. Great work!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. LouAnn says:

    I love using lipstick for blushes because it lasts so long with great color payoff! Great post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

